none live for themselves

a glimpse into the mind a lazy dreamer

it all makes cents?

Posted by Jonathan Chant on 22:30, April 5, 2007

Sorry ’bout the lame title. I was trying to come up with a catchy title, but that was the best I could do.

Money. Cash. Moolah. Squid. It’s all around us. We need/want it. Can’t live without it. Some say it’s the root of all evil. Some say it’ll buy us anything, including happiness. Some say a million of it will buy your love (bonus points to those who know what I’m talking about). What’s the big deal?

Well, I’ve been thinking about it lately. I’ll be submitting my tax return soon (as soon as my lazy landlord gets around to issuing our receipts) and will be hopefully getting some back. But really, how much do we really need money? Sure, we need it to get us the basics: food, clothing, & shelter. But how about after that? Isn’t it just wants after that? I’ve always thought that I’ve been pretty good about money. Not wanting it, just using some of it for my needs, some for my wants, some for good causes. But do I really not want it? Maybe I have such a good attitude because I have it. What if I only had $1 a day to live on? Would I have the same attitude? Would I really be ok with just the money I have? I don’t know. I’d like to say yes, I would be ok with it, but really, would I? It’s like that episode of Boy Meets World where Topanga begins off saying image means nothing to her and to prove it, she cuts off a bunch of her hair. But a minute after that, she begins freaking and realizes she hasn’t cared about image because to society, she’s not ugly. Would I be like that if I lost all of my financial security?

One last thing about money: we have a ridiculous amount of it. If you’re reading this, chances are, you’re part of the upper class population of the world. A friend just sent me a link that lets you input you’re annual income and then it spits out where you rank in the world in terms of wealth. If you make a measly $1000 CAN a year, you’re richer than more than half the world. I put in how much I made last year at IBM, and I was ranked the 645,718,558th richest person in the world. That’s richer than 89.24% of the world. Kind of puts things in perspective.

I’m the 645,718,558 richest person on earth!
Discover how rich you are! >>

How ’bout you? How rich are you? What does that mean?

Leave a Reply

 
