none live for themselves

a glimpse into the mind a lazy dreamer

jehovah jireh

Posted by Jonathan Chant on 2:04, February 10, 2007

Just a quick background before I get into this post.

So, for U of T Chinese Christian Fellowship’s winter retreat this year, we’ve faced some challenges in the past couple of months, the biggest one being financial. There were very few places we could hold our retreat on the weekend we wanted (that being next weekend) and one of the places that we could do it was very expensive. So it basically came down to faith. Would we have faith that God would provide another place if we cancelled from this one (Fair Havens) or would we have faith God will provide the funds for Fair Havens? We (the committee) felt we should have faith that God would provide the funds. So, after some estimations and budgeting, it turns out that the retreat will cost about $110/person, way too expensive. So, in faith, we decided to only charge $85/person and that God would provide the rest of the money through other means. Now, the retreat is only a week away and we still needed to raise over $1000. Then tonight happened. Here’s the email I sent to the rest of the committee earlier tonight:

Oh man…words can not describe the joy I have right now. I haven’t been able to stop smiling and laughing for the past 10 minutes. All I can say, is hallelujah, praise the Lord, for He is good and He provides!

So, I come home from Kowloon tonight and I’m just unpacking everything from my bag, cleaning up and getting things organized. I take out the offering box and notice a sealed TD Canada Trust deposit envelope [on] top of the money. There’s a small yellow post it on the envelope with the simple words: “UTCCF: God told me to give this to you. So I’m like, ok, cool, some offering, probably a significant amount since it’s in an envelope, maybe even as much as $100. So I open it up. What do I see? A hundred dollar bill, whoa. So I take it out, but it’s not the only bill in there, actually this is a pretty thick wad of cash. So I start counting, “1, 2, 3…” and I don’t stop counting until I get up to 15 hundred dollar bills!!!! That’s right, $1500 sitting there!

So yeah, that’s why I haven’t been able to stop smiling or laughing, my heart is doing flips right now! What a mighty God we serve and see how he supplies

Jehovah Jireh.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

5 Responses to “jehovah jireh”

  1. Peggy said

    Oh my goodness… PRAISE THE LORD!!! :D

  2. sixsteps said

    That is… something! Indeed, thanksgiving is in order.

    Consider hard and reconsider harder: what God wants to say to he/she/those who otherwise would not have made it to the Retreat if the cost was not lowered.

    I’m no UTCCFer, but this thought is very sobering.

  3. kat said

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CRAZY JCHANT!! :D i’m SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO incredibly encouraged and expectant for great things this weekend for you guys!! :D

  4. Karen said

    WOW.

    Here I am, on the eve of a test, so obviously, not studying…

    And I just happen to stumble upon your blog (please don’t think I’m a stalker).

    And this post.

    WOW.

    I HAVE GOOSEBUMPS.

    WOW!!!! I ECHO: SOOOOO CRAZY!That’s SO AMAZINGGGGG!

  5. NtLeTg said

    Those who ask, shall receive! Great Job JC (and CCF), for putting that retreat together.

    NtLeTg – Don’t be a stranger

Leave a Reply

 
