none live for themselves

a glimpse into the mind a lazy dreamer

so ends an era…

Posted by Jonathan Chant on 23:55, June 26, 2006

DerekToronto’s population has gone down by one. Seems kind of insignificant considering the GTA has a population of over 5 million. But the one that has left is no other than Derek Cheng. He left yesterday. He has gone back to his homeland in HK and left an unfillable hole here in TO.

To many, he was a great friend and the one who spoke with a slight British accent and used British terms like “lift”. For me, he was like a brother. Living with him, cooking and sharing meals with him, having fun with him, having deep conversations with him, just spending a lot of time with him. It was awesome. I wish I could have spent more time with him this past year: cramming as much time as I could with him in the last 2 days before he left was awesome, but left wishing I had spent even more time. I guess it’s true what they say, “you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.” I wished I had valued the time we had more.

Friday and Saturday were great. Having a few last good, meaningful, face-to-face conversations with him, surprising him with water-balloons and BBQ, seeing him ride a bike for the first time, chilling at the beach, spending another meal with him, praying for him, just plain good times with him and other friends, like we’ve done so many times in the past 4 years. It was an awesome way to send him off and I had so much fun (and I’m sure he did too)! But like many (not all) good things, this one had to come to an end. Saying good-bye on Saturday night was rough. Many cried and it was the toughest good-bye ever.

These past 48 hours have sucked since saying good-bye. I have never felt so sad over somebody leaving before. I guess it’s the fact that I don’t know when the next time will be when I see him again. Hopefully it’s sooner than later. Derek, this one’s for you. I know God has mighty things in store for you in HK and I know that you are going to be such a blessing in HK like you were here in TO. We all miss you a lot!

One Response to “so ends an era…”

  1. gizzel said

    :)

Leave a Reply

 
