none live for themselves

a glimpse into the mind a lazy dreamer

hot mugginess

Posted by Jonathan Chant on 23:33, May 29, 2006

hmmm…so another week begins. Craziness with the unwarned TTC strike today. It took my cousin 2 1/2 hours to drive downtown to work. Man am I blessed to be able to walk to work and not worry about transportation.

There was a wedding this past weekend, Toby’s to be exact. Was invited but didn’t go, kind of regretting it now. I thought my parents weren’t going, but turns out they were only not going to the banquet. Also thought that I wouldn’t know anybody (Toby’s the son of my parents’ friends, so I don’t really know him), but turned out I probably would have known half the people there. Heard it was a great wedding and a lot of fun, but yeah, kind of wishing I could have been there. Ah well, wishing Toby & his new wife a great life together!

And so it’s been a week since CC ended. I’ve processed things a bit more, caught up on some sleep (could use some more though), and just still in awe of everything. Already mentioned in my previous post how I was humbled by God’s providence. But I was also humbled in another way: my pride just being smashed to pieces. I guess throughout the planning and especially during the conference, I had the attitude, “Look at this conference I’m helping plan.” I wasn’t outright boasting vocally, but still, it was in the back of my mind. And so, trying to suppress that thought all weekend, but it was still there and on the last day, me and my big head was half expecting some sort of huge thank you for me and my work. *rolls eyes* When it didn’t come, wow, was heart brought to its knees. Realizing it wasn’t about me or what I did, but about Jesus and what He did. It’s all about Him, always has been, always will be. Not a new lesson for me, but one that I seem to have to be reminded of and retaught every so often.

It’s all about you, Jesus. And all this is for You, for Your glory and Your fame. It’s not about me, as if you should do things my way. You alone are God and I surrender, to Your ways.

One Response to “hot mugginess”

  1. shelby said

    It was all the God at CC…
    but thank you for all your hard work and surrendering to be used by the Lord ;)

    randomly.. your mentioning the wedding.. I’ve regretted not going to funerals of fellow acf ppl’s relatives. I also hadn’t known those people well, but it was also because i was thinking of myself, like not knowing anyone else, or them very well etc.
    although a funeral is kinda different, like I don’t think they’re ‘fun’ per se, I’ve hindered my chance to really establish and grow community; missed out on a blessing and being used by God; but also in supporting a brother or sister and demonstrating love.
    haha I’m not criticizing you *promise*! just, kinda remarking on the blessings and works of God, and how He can use anything to accomplish His will and grow us as well… =)

    Praise the Lord for His awesome grace and Love towards us all!

Leave a Reply

 
