none live for themselves

a glimpse into the mind a lazy dreamer

none live for themselves?

Posted by Jonathan Chant on 16:14, April 29, 2006

So, my parents and sister are back home now (in the best place to live in Canada, ;)). Just saw them last night as they made a stop here in TO before heading home. Can't believe my sister has already finished a year of university. Man I'm getting old.

Speaking of the end of the school year, this always seems to be the time when everyone (in university/college at least) seems to be pondering where they are going. A lot of people I've been talking to, or from reading their blogs, seem to be asking, what's next? What am I going to be doing for the rest of my life? Or as John Mayer puts so eloquently, we all seem to be going through a "quarter-life crisis." I know I've been thinking about this again this year. Should I work after I graduate? Get my P. Eng? Should I apply for teacher's college? I don't know. It's all up in the air right now.

There is one thing I do know for sure though, whatever I'm doing, it will have to be for the service for God and for other people, not for myself. This is my purpose in life is and hence the name of my blog, "none live for themselves." I picked this phrase up from a book I read last year, The Vision and the Vow by Pete Greig. It's an excellent book about Greig's journey in the years following the words he wrote in The Vision and the challenge he gives us all. Throughout the book and specifically in one chapter, he talks about The Honorable Order of the Mustard Seed, which was this secret society formed back in the 18th century (by a German teenager no less) with one simple purpose: to live for Jesus Christ. All of them wore a ring with a Greek inscription literally saying, "no man liveth for unto himself" but Greig used the non-gendered translation, as have I for my blog, "none live for themselves." So I've adapted this as my single purpose in life and I have a long ways to go. But I sincerely hope and pray that this be my passion and that everything I do will not be for me, but for service of God and the service of others.

none live for themselves

Leave a Reply

 
